Grand Designs has been particularly good this series, though S somewhat cynically said that ‘it’s a great marketing ploy’ for the home owners, I guess as so many of them seem to be involved in the building trade, although it that such a mad surprise? If I had the money, I’d want a cedar clad eco-home built for me too, or, even more one of those hexagon ones with a gnarly tree-trunk spiral staircase in the middle. As S says, ‘bespoke is the new pink.’

The series is inspiring and it’s great to see people creating such amazing spaces. I would like to see a series devoted to a more freegan style approach though, combining ecological principles with an ultra-cheap/free/barter/salvage philosophy. How cheaply can you still build beautifully and well?

Note: The above image is from the Peckham House website.

