Great interview between Mariella Frostrup and Mo Hayder, one of the few crime genre writers I’ve really enjoyed, though I must admit I am a dyed-in-the-wool SF junkie most of the time (or I read ‘non-fiction’ stuff about history or science).

Tokyo (aka The Devil of Nanking) is just one of the best things I’ve read, at once eye-wateringly horrifying and utterly amazing.

I haven’t got on as well with the others but do intend to give them another shot, especially Pig Island, which I ended up having to take back to the library after starting and not finishing it (a peculiar vice I suffer from) and now I keep thinking about it. Tropical islands are all very well, but lord, how I miss British libraries, and The British Library for that matter. Another reason I need an eBook Reader.

Come to think of it, there is a second-hand copy of Tokyo in The Book Place in Bridgetown right now (at least there was on Monday) and it’s got MY name on it, so hands off! I also have my beady eye on the copy of Little Big by John Crowley, far too long on my must-read list and soon to be devoured greedily, just as soon as I have finished Gravity’s Rainbow (almost there). Please don’t buy it, or if you do and are reading this, email me and we’ll do an exchange.

OK, it’s bed-time.

