I was directed to this from Matt Staggs’ site. Thanks.

It is an interesting point that many people seem to set their literary trajectory when in their teens, although the writers and styles I have settled on and like to re-read now I discovered mostly in my late 20’s. Lovecraft certainly set an important stylistic groove that flows through his followers like Clark Ashton Smith to Vance, Lee and Wolfe and beyond (I know my list is completely unbalanced in gender terms – an issue I’m working on).

I re-read some of his stories recently and they were good. I still love the really odd ones like ‘The Dream Quest of Unknown Kadath’ as they have a unique quality, but I can’t quite get back the strange feeling of immanence and excitement I had when I first read them.

Anyway, I immediately subscribed to the Oslo SF YouTube Channel.

