The artist at work

The artist at work

Cliff Martinez has had a pretty stellar musical career (drummer for The Magic Band, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Lydia Lunch, among others).  Not only that, but he created one of the finest movie scores in recent years, for Steven Soderbergh’s Solaris.

Incidentally, the score by Artemiev for the original Tarkovsky take on Lem’s novel (and my next favourite film after Stalker) was no slouch either.

Anyway, I was browsing a new music site I’ve been enjoying, namely Soundflavor, and I looked him up.  There wasn’t much of anything there so I checked to see if he had an official site.  He does and it has a download page here, where you can get a big chunk of his back catalogue for free.

It is absolutely gorgeous stuff and extremely generous of Mr Martinez to share it with the world.

