I just deleted a blog I was in the process of starting, which I had planned to use for noting down teaching ideas and keeping a record of my work at College. Unfortunately, Blogger identified it as a ‘spam blog’ and locked it, saying it needed to be ‘reviewed’ before I could use it again.

I really can’t be bothered with this type of thing so I just got rid of it. Luckily I had only written one entry so far, so it’s no real loss. I still have another blog with them which I might still use for my teaching etc. if I still feel like using if at all anymore… (sulky sniff)

OK, to be fair, they explain it in my email thus:

We find spam by using an automated classifier. Automatic spam detection is inherently fuzzy, and occasionally a blog like yours is flagged incorrectly. We sincerely apologize for this error. By using this kind of system, however, we can dedicate more storage, bandwidth, and engineering resources to bloggers like you instead of to spammers.

I’ll just put it down to an inherently fuzzy bot-sweep then.  Even so, WordPress keeps looking better and better.

