Pirates, Zombies and the Fountain of Youth

Pirates, Zombies and the Fountain of Youth

I am re-reading this amazing novel.  I remember liking it the first time round, but not being completely floored.  Now, however… It is a supremely weird masterpiece, combining a light, almost slapstick humour with extremely twisted and dark effects (like a literary Dado), although the main protagonist Jack Shandy sheds his somewhat bungling persona as the book progresses.

I have always suspected that the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise ransacked this novel for ideas, but, fond as I am of the first installment, OST blows the movies out of the water.

I once had a fine UK First Edition, but I foolishly lent it to someone (don’t remember who) and… oh well.  I’m only really into book-collecting in the sense of having a copy, I’m not too fetishistic about which one or how many of the same book.  Mind you, I think it’s worth a fair few now.

Speaking of Dado (a Montenegrin painter who melds staggering bleakness and horror with beautiful painterly effects, textures and colours), I’m finding it very hard to track down any of his images online.  Here’s one though courtesy of the Gallery of Surrealism.

Gibbering fungal heads anyone?

Gibbering fungal heads anyone?

The guy deserves a lot more recognition, as does Tim Powers.  If you happen to read this and haven’t read OST, get a copy.  Now!

