This is the second mix of a track I’m working on, named after the book by James Blaylock. I’ve been choosing song titles from books I’ve been reading lately. It seems as a good a method as any.

I want to work some more on the arrangement as it is perhaps a little monotonous. It’s getting there though. I particularly like the skittering, slithy drum noises, courtesy of Ultrabeat.

But I’m not happy with the bassline and the overall balance of sound. Part of the problem is that it is pretty much impossible for me to monitor the mix accurately as I don’t have decent speakers, only cheap headphones and my nephew’s bass amp. Also, the mix posted here is heavily compressed which doesn’t help either (excuses, excuses…).

The video is just there to frame the music so I can blog it and is a random comp of footage from Slovakia and Somerset.

